PDA

View Full Version : Wanted: 4.1 or 4.4 ratio diff wanted for e46 BMW

niall s14a
07-11-13, 22:02
As above lads, I know it's a long shot but worth a try. Looking for something to suit an e46 with a good ratio. Even a good diff that's not a direct fit will be considered. I'm no expert on bmws so enlighten me as to what will do the job!

Cheers

DaveM-sport
08-11-13, 21:30
Your kinda out of luck really for E46 diffs in any ratio suitable.

Off hand, the only way to get a somebit reasonable ratio by just swapping bits and pieces is to use an E46 M3 rear axle and fit a 3.91cwp from an E34 M5 into the the M3 LSD

Lucius
08-11-13, 22:34
Your kinda out of luck really for E46 diffs in any ratio suitable.

Off hand, the only way to get a somebit reasonable ratio by just swapping bits and pieces is to use an E46 M3 rear axle and fit a 3.91cwp from an E34 M5 into the the M3 LSD

Wuuut? :p

I've a 4.44, 3.73 and 3.38 x 2.
4.44 is welded and fitted into e46. Rest of diffs are in the shed. Can be welded and fitted if needed.

You could also get a bmw X3 diff - 3.64 afaik - this is also p&p ;)

DaveM-sport
08-11-13, 22:51
What are they from? I've only seen the stupid low ratio ones so far and best being a 3.63 in the M3s.. shows how many E46s I work on lol

niall s14a
09-11-13, 08:36
Wuuut? :p

I've a 4.44, 3.73 and 3.38 x 2.
4.44 is welded and fitted into e46. Rest of diffs are in the shed. Can be welded and fitted if needed.

You could also get a bmw X3 diff - 3.64 afaik - this is also p&p ;)

Much work to fit the 3.7 Lucius? Or was it much work to fit the 4.44? Can you pm me with prices please?

What are they from? I've only seen the stupid low ratio ones so far and best being a 3.63 in the M3s.. shows how many E46s I work on lol

early e46s with m43 automatics dave.
he's talking 168mm diffs ;)

niall s14a
09-11-13, 12:38
early e46s with m43 automatics dave.
he's talking 168mm diffs ;)

So that will be fuck all use to me with a s54 in front of it then?

in a word... yes.